top of page

Decolonizing My Faith pt 1. Luke 11:13

"Your father in heaven knows much better than you do how to give good things to his children."


It's been two years since I've wanted to journal any Bible verse. It's been two years since I've been to church and another two years since I felt good about the Bible. Yesterday, after yet another bored unemployed afternoon, I decided to mess with IOS 14 and add widgets and color to my phone. I added pictures in my albums to rotate every ten minutes so I could remember Team Will, prom, studying abroad, Jackson, and my friends and family. I also decided to add a Bible widget thinking that maybe it would feel good to read the Bible again starting with the daily verses. I also decided I can't read it the same way I used to. If I'm going to allow myself to once again visit the Bible and modern christianity I need some boundaries and rules first.

Rule number 1: Sit with the verse of the day and think about it till it teaches you something

Rule number 2: If at first your interpretation goes against what you know about God, try again.

Rule number 3: Your mind has been taught under the umbrella of white supremacy and colonization so be alert to this while reading.

Following rule number 2, my initial interpretation was "I clearly do not know how to help Gods children who are suffering under slavery, homophobia, fear and trauma as well as God does, therefore God is telling me to do nothing and let Her take care of the issues in this world." My stomach turned knowing this is NOT what God wants from me and is a colonized, white supremacist interpretation. Try again.

"The way I would help might be different than the way God would help assuming She is here on earth, therefore, what did Jesus do to help God's children and what can I do to mirror that? Knowing that I am made in the image of God, what am I able to do to help Her suffering children?"

Some of my 'God gifts,' as I like to say, are understanding, hospitality, passion and thoughtfulness. I think maybe in light of the thoughtfulness and passion, maybe if I write down what I'm processing about the colonization in my own faith, and how its been used to ostracize God's children along with remaining complacent in the tragedies of oppression, that maybe others would like to join along side me in this means of reshaping my theology and faith.

I guess hospitality goes along with that too. If you're reading this, welcome. Please leave your toxic evangelicalism, hate, division and power at the door. Join me in a nice full mug of inclusion, a sweet slice of abolitionism and warm blanket of peace.


Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
bottom of page